You are currently viewing GHANA ASSOCIATION OF WRITERS (GAW)<br>2021 GAW LITERARY AWARDS: Honouring Literary Excellence

2021 GAW LITERARY AWARDS: Honouring Literary Excellence

The Ghana Association of Writers (GAW) Literary Awards was instituted in 1987. It was conceived to be organised annually to honour outstanding literary achievements by Ghanaian writers, especially members of the Association. However, the awards event had been dormant since its last organisation due to political, social and financial circumstances. The 2021 event marks the fourth year, following the revival of the awards. The purpose envisioned by the originators of the awards remains unchanged. Except that the categories of awards have been expanded to include many more literary interests, and to cover additional categories of genre. It is the hope of GAW that the awards will bolster corporate bodies and foundations to support GAW to hold this event.

The awards is under the management of a special committee (The 2021 GAW Literary Awards
Planning Committee). The Committee retains sole discretion, regarding submission and other
requirements, and its decisions are final and binding on contestants. The Executive Committee of GAW, however, keeps oversight responsibility of the Committee.
Stage 1: The Awards was launched on Saturday, February 27, 2021. This is to formally inform the general membership of GAW and regional branches, and the general public about the Awards. There were press releases in the traditional and social media.
Stage 2: Following the deadline of the Submission Period, all eligible submissions will be winnowed and shortlisted by a three-member-team of literary experts to be put together by the Committee.
Stage 3: The shortlisted works will be forwarded to very distinguished assessors (one in each category), by the Committee, who will carry out the final assessment. The criteria for assessment has been developed by the Committee and the team that winnowed and shortlisted the works.
Stage 4: Upon the submission of reports by the assessors, the winning works will be collated by the Committee. Submissions that receive the highest overall scores during the assessment will be declared the winners. Three winners of each category will be declared: The Ultimate Award, First Runner-up and Second Runner-up.
Stage 5: Three finalists for all categories will be announced three days ahead of the Awards in the media and in GAW’s newsletter and social media platforms. The winning positions will be announced at the Awards ceremony in November, 2021.


  1. This award is open to works by Ghanaian authors or anyone that must have been resident in Ghana for at least three years.
  2. Entries may be on any subject or theme.
  3. Entries must be original and published in Ghana or abroad in a physical book format or a suitable audio/video format (in the case of Spoken Word category) between July 2019 and June 2021.
  4. All entries must be in English, except for works entered in the Ghanaian language special award category.
  5. The entry should be accessible to the general reading public (general commercial release) and cannot be intended for a specialised or academic readership.
  6. Anthologies of short stories, poetry, or essays by multiple authors are ineligible for entry.
  7. Collections of short stories, poetry, or essays in newspapers, magazines, or online
    previously published and compiled into book format are considered eligible.
  8. A contestant may submit more than one entry for the competition provided that the entries are different and not variations of the same work.
  9. Revised editions of works submitted in a previous year are eligible for entry.
  10. The same work should not be submitted in more than one language in the same award period.
  11. Participants are required to submit three (3) copies of their works.
  12. Members of the Awards Committee are not eligible to enter.
  13. The organisers shall not be held responsible for any entries that have been lost or damaged in transit.
  14. All works submitted in the Competition will be retained by GAW.
  15. All disputes, claims, and causes of action are to be settled by the Awards Committee.
  16. Submission Deadline: Wednesday, June 30, 2021 at 4:00p.m.

The award for each category will go to an author whose work represents an exceptional contribution to the literary field.

S/n Categories Titles
1 Novel Ayi Kwei Armah
2 Short Story Ama Ata Aidoo
3 Poetry Atukwei Okai
4 Children’s Story Book Efua Sutherland
5 Children’s Poetry Kwesi Brew
6 Young Writer (not more than 25 yrs.) Bill Okyere Marshall
7 Creative Non-Fiction (For the purpose of the award, we define creative non-fiction as writing that uses literary devices to create a narrative text about real events, people, or ideas. Examples in this genre include literary criticism, biography, food writing, literary journalism, memoirs, personal essays and travel writing, but does not include cookbooks, self-help manuals, travel guides, or textbooks). Kofi Awoonor
8 Drama (staged) Efo Kodzo Mawugbe
9 Spoken Word (audio/video) Kofi Anyidoho
10 Script Writing Kwaw Ansah
11 Ghanaian language special award Kate Abbam
12 Science & Mathematics Textbook Writers special award Jophus Anamuah-Mensah &
Francis Kofi Ampenyin

This year’s event will confer a number of Achievement Awards and Distinguished Service Awards on notable literary personalities. The Achievement Award is the highest Association-wide award presented to member(s) in special recognition of outstanding contributions to literary works and the arts. Selection criteria include significant publications in the literary field. The award this year would consist of a plaque and/or a certificate. The Distinguished Service Award recognises longterm support of the Association’s activities. Recognition is given to those who innovate new Association programmes, manage Association functions, or promote the Association’s areas of literary interest to the larger community. The recipient(s) usually would have served for many years with sustained participation in the Association’s management. The award consists of a  plaque and/or a certificate. These awards are not in competition, and are in categories as follows:

S/N Categories Titles
1 Service to GAW Awards
2 Service to GAW and the Book Industry Awards
3 Posthumous Awards
4 Sponsors Awards

For additional information and Submission to the Award, contact:

The Administrator,
Ghana Association of Writers (GAW),
PAWA House,
South Ridge Road,
Roman Ridge,


The Administrator,
Ghana Association of Writers (GAW),
P.O. Box LG 375,
Legon, Accra.
Tel.#: +233 (0) 302732019
Email Address:

Please follow the instructions below to complete and submit your entry.

Please note that Submissions Forms and E-Books may be submitted online via email. Hard copy books and other works may be submitted by courier or self-delivery at the Secretariat at PAWA House, Roman Ridge, Accra.

Online submission via email:

  1. Download the literary works submission forms (Online submission entry form)
  2. Fill the downloaded entry form correctly in Microsoft word.
  3. Submit your forms with all required attachments as stated in the RULES FOR ENTRY to

Submission by courier or self-delivery:

  1. Download the literary works submission forms (courier or self-delivery entry form)
  2. Fill the downloaded entry form correctly in blue/black ink.
  3. Return the completed form with all required attachments as stated in the RULES FOR ENTRY to the addresses below:

The General Secretariat, Ghana Association of Writers (GAW) at
PAWA house, South Ridge Street, Roman Ridge Accra, Ghana or post to the postal address below:

P.O. Box LG 375, Legon, Accra, Ghana.

Please click on the links below to download your entry form

Leave a Reply